← command reference · Commands
Also: rent, save
Syntax: QUIT Syntax: RENT ... not! Syntax: SAVE SAVE saves your character and object. The game saves your character every 15 minutes regardless, and is the preferred method of saving. If the server load is high, typing save will block all other command for about 20 seconds, so use it sparingly. (90+ players all typing save every 30 seconds generates too much machine lag.) Some objects, such as keys and potions, may not be saved. If an object has a level that is more than 7 higher than your level, then it won't be saved. This is to prevent storage characters. QUIT leaves the game. You may QUIT anywhere. When you re-enter the game you will be back in the same room. QUIT automatically does a SAVE, so you can safely leave the game with just one command. Nevertheless it's a good idea to SAVE before QUIT. If you get into the habit of using QUIT without SAVE, and then you play some other mud that doesn't save before quitting, you're going to regret it. There is no RENT in this mud. Just SAVE and QUIT whenever you want to leave.